North Dakota Jails
By JailNorth Dakota, sometimes referred to as the "High Plains" is a Midwestern state, sharing its northern border with Canada. It is the third least populous state in the U.S., but the 19th largest. The state is comprised of 53 counties, with Cass County having the largest population, followed by Burleigh County. The majority of North Dakota is covered in grassland and farms. North Dakota is known for its abundant hunting and fishing opportunities.
North Dakotans are proud of the fact that their state has the lowest unemployment rate in the U.S. The huge oil boom of the state has created a shortage of workers. Fast food jobs in North Dakota are frequently offering a couple of dollars above minimum wage just to attract employees. Another appealing thing about living in North Dakota is that it has the lowest overall crime rate in the nation. This state is known for being one of the safest to live in.
Despite the low crime rate, North Dakota has to deal with crime just like any other state. One of the ways crime is dealt with is through locking up law-breaking individuals. However, the state has one of the lowest incarceration rates in the nation. On average, 228 of 100,000 people are incarcerated in this state, compared to 502 nationally.
North Dakota enforces laws that reflect their commitment to keeping drunk drivers off the roads. A first time DUI will get you a license suspension of 91 to 108 days (depending on blood alcohol level), along with a $250 fine, a mandatory alcohol evaluation and SR-22 insurance requirement.
The second offense will land you in jail for 5 days, increase the license suspension to 1 to 2 years, 30 days of community service, and a $500 fine. If you are caught a third time, you will likely spend 60 days in jail, receive a 2-3 year license suspension, $1000 minimum fine.
North Dakota has an implied consent law, meaning that anyone operating a motor vehicle in the state must submit to a chemical analysis of their urine, breath or blood when asked by a peace officer.
According to Article 1, Section 1 of the North Dakota Constitution, residents of the state can own guns for hunting and lawful recreational activities. However, not everyone in the state has the right to own a gun. A person under the age of 18 cannot possess a gun without the supervision of an adult.
Individuals with a felony record are also precluded from this privilege. If you are a resident of North Dakota and want to own a firearm, it's important that you familiarize yourself with the gun laws in this state.
Weird North Dakota Laws
Every state has some crazy laws on the books, and North Dakota is no exception. For example, it is illegal to lie down and fall asleep with your shoes on. It is also a crime to serve beer and pretzels at the same time in any bar or restaurant. And lastly, it is legal to shoot an Indian only if you are in a covered wagon. Go figure.