USA / Utah / Davis County Jail CountyJail.net has 1,420 interviews from ex-inmates. Share your story
Search free arrest warrants
Davis County Jail
Map to the Jail
Been to rehab?
Write a review
Expunging a Felony
Getting a job with a felony
How long does a felony stay on your record?
Davis County Jail
800 West State Street
KG: Until I paid the remainder of my bail which was 800 dollars. This could not be bonded, had to be paid for my release.
buddy: One year.
Casey: 1 year
Sam: Longest sentence was 2 months
JM: Did you spend time in a holding cell after your sentencing? If so, what was that like? If you didn't where did they they take you instead?
KG: Yes, it was cold. I was in there with another inmate who was very upset, he was hitting the door. The air vent was right above where I was sitting and you only get one shirt which is a short sleeve, I took toilet paper ran it under the sink and plastered it on the vent to stop air.
buddy: Yes, it was very uncomfortable.
Casey: horrible. Try being in a bathroom(a small one) with another person majority of the time, with no windows
Sam: Yes it was the holding cell in clearfield county court, it was quite grody and unclean I couldve made a statue of myself out of the fingernails on the ground looked like they havent cleaned it in months
Life On The Inside
The campus of the Davis County Jail in Utah is made up of 18 separate units. There's also a separate facility that accommodates inmates who are available for work release or work details. On the average day you might find as many as 700 inmates incarcerated at Davis County jail.
Not only will inmates have to serve out their time, but they'll also have to pay for the privilege. There is a state law on the books called "pay for stay." This law requires every inmate to pay up to $10 per day for their stay with a maximum of $45 per day.
Passing The Time In Jail
Leisure time is limited at the Davis County Jail. There is a television, a few books, but that's about it. However, the jail does offer many programs for the inmates to participate in. These include vocational studies, substance abuse and religious programs. Many inmates sign up for programs as a way to pass the time, but they end up receiving many benefits from these programs. This is especially true for the substance abuse programs. These are designed to help inmates get clean and sober and prepare them for rejoining the outside world.
As far as the meals are concerned, they're not given very high marks from former inmates. In fact, one inmate stated that she would go hungry for several days and then eat knowing that whatever she would eat would taste good. There is a commissary available for inmates to make use of if they have money on their inmate account (also known as their "books").
Good Behavior Policy
The Utah state policy for good behavior time off is a maximum of 10 days a month. An inmate can earn this by staying out of trouble and completing programs that they are assigned to. Of course, all it takes is one infraction to have any of that good time taken away. That would certainly be a shame, especially if an inmate is reaching the end of their proposed sentence.
Visitor and Phone Policy
In terms of visitation each inmate is allowed to the minute visits each week. Visits are scheduled based upon where the inmate is housed and on a first come, first serve basis. It's also the responsibility of the inmate to tell their visitor when the best time is to come see them. An inmate won't be taken out of class or work detail program for visit.
The phones that are available for inmates to make calls on are turned on during the day. Only collect calls are allowed to be made. There are no prepaid calling cards available to inmates. The average cost for a phone call is $3.80 for 15 minutes.
Continue to the interview